How many times have you sent an email, then instantly noticed you sent it to the wrong person, had a
spelling error, or forgot to attach an important document? Don’t you wish there was a way to avoid these
embarrassing mistakes and clean up your work, like a trusty eraser on a #2 pencil?
Well, your prayers have been answered, there is now a tool that can help you clean out your outbox, and
give you a second chance at checking the content you are sending out.
The highly anticipated “Undo Send” option on Gmail has now landed a spot on your Google email Dashboard.
This lifesaving tool has been in the works for about 6 years, according to thenextweb.com, and is finally fully updated and ready to rock your outbox.
The long wait is well worth it, given that you can now send emails with peace of mind knowing that you
have a second chance to correct and delete sent emails.
To access this application, Gmail users can find the “Undo Send” feature under the “General” tab. This
feature is currently applied to those using the “Labs” version of Gmail, but can be manually enabled if you
go in and change it, and update your settings.
When turning on the “Undo Send” setting, users have the choice to decide how much time they want to have
before the message is officially sent and cannot be undone.
However, there is a caveat.
As with all good things, there is a limit to how much you can have. The setting for the ”Undo Send”
feature ranges in increments of ten, starting at 10 seconds, 20 seconds, and so on. The highest amount of
time you are able to have before deleting a sent email is 30 seconds. Beyond that half of a minute, the
message has reached the point of no return, and will find its way safely and swiftly to the inbox of the
receiver, whether you want it to or not.
While this amazing tool can get you out of some sticking situations if you act fast, it is still limited
in its powers. The emails you send out are your responsibility, and your responsibility alone. This feature
should not let you get lazy with your email, and assume that you can just delete them with another click of
the mouse. In fact, this new feature may require more attention to improve your emails. While you have the
option to delete, you have to be attentive and take the short amount of time you do have to proofread, and
ensure that everything is correct.
In this time when technology has flourished and allowed us every possible opportunity to optimize our
work, we need to make sure we are not letting our end slip.
Now that this feature is available, errors in emails will become even more of a faux pas for businesses,
when clients know that there is a second chance to catch mistakes.
That said, it is still vital that you proofread, and take precaution when sending out important emails.
Businesses are still liable for the results of sloppy emails, and a computer will not catch all ouf your
mistakes, that’s entirely up to you.
So as you enable this Gmail option, as you should, still keep in mind that you cannot fully “unsend” an
email once it has been sent. We cannot access other peoples’ inboxes and delete them before they are read.
This Google feature simply allows us more time to check our work and insure clarity and correctness. And for
that we will be grateful. Keep up the good work, Google!